Fruit of the Month Club: Nectarines!

Ah, yet another excuse to bake. My roommate was given a gift of the Harry and David Fruit of the Month Club. Where I can (and will) certainly contribute to finishing that fruit in its freshest form (I’ve almost never met a fruit I don’t love), she thought it more appropriate that I instead contribute by turning those fruits into baked goods. UTTER brilliance.

This first month, we received a beautiful batch of nectarines. I considered a plethora of nectarine related recipes – in cobblers with blueberries, in tarts with rasberries, carmelized with fresh cherries. I was honing in, however, on something I could whip up easily to enjoy during the debates, so that significantly narrowed my scope. I turned to the sound advice of Nicole over at Baking Bites, and opted for Nectarine Turnovers.

Nectarine Turnovers (modified from the above referenced recipe!)

3 firm, ripe nectarines, peeled and chopped
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp butter
1/8 tsp salt
1 tbsp water mixed with 1 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 pound puff pastry (2 sheets), thawed
1 egg
sugar

 

Place nectarines in a medium saucepan with sugar, lemon juice, vanilla, butter, salt and nutmeg. Cook over medium heat until mixture bubbles and nectarines are tender. Stir in 1 tbsp water mixed with 1 tsp cornstarch and continue to cook until thick. Remove from heat and cool completely (I was impatient and used an ice bath!). Filling can be prepared ahead of time and chilled.

 

Preheat oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Roll out thawed puff pastry on a very lightly floured surface until pastry is a large square. Use a pizza cutter to slice into quarters (I just used my kitchen shears and cut into large triangles).


Spoon 2 TBSP of filling into each square and fold triangles in half, keeping filling away from the edges. Use a fork to crimp edges and seal. Place on baking sheet and repeat with remaining pastry.
Brush on egg and sprinkle with sugar. Bake for about 20 minutes, until dark golden brown.
Serve immediately.

 

Makes 8 turnovers.

 

One thought on “Fruit of the Month Club: Nectarines!

Leave a comment