TWD: Creme Brulee

I should start off by saying that I’ve never been a big fan of creme brulee – I tend to stray from custardy type desserts (technically, it’s the only kind I stray from), so I had mixed feelings when I saw this weeks Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, selected by Mari at Mevrouw Cupcake. But what the heck, I figured I should give it a go anyway.

First order of business was that I didn’t have a torch…so I went out and bought a cheapie little set, only to find out at the last minute (which it is) that I actually needed GAS for my torch. Go figure. So I ended up having to use the broiler method, which in the end, I’m convinced isn’t quite the same.

But here it is nonetheless, the cinnamon version. My cousin Carolyn, with a fabulous blog here, originally bought this book primarily because of this recipe, so I hope the rest of you who might have something to compare it to can provide her with some good reviews! My roommate said the top was yummy, but the custard tasted a little “custardy” and compared it with the flavor of tapioca pudding. Hm. Maybe it was baker error? 🙂

3 thoughts on “TWD: Creme Brulee

  1. You have much more discipline than me for forging ahead with a recipe you weren’t excited about. The results look lovely! And cinnamon–good choice.

  2. yeah, luckily my husband and I asked the salesperson if our torch came with butane–if we didn’t I would have been in the same place as you.

    Your brulee looks good. How was the cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

