The Dough Also Rises

Oy, bad reference.

For weeks I’ve been weighing my love for all things warm and gooey and cinnamony with my ongoing battle with yeast breads, and finally decided to give in and give this lovely looking Cinnamon Pull-Apart bread that has been all over the foodgawking universe a try. And after round 1, I think it’s safe to say the score is Yeast Bread 1, Lynne 0.

I don’t know what my problem is, though I’m absolutely sure its baker error. I followed the recipe exactly, let the dough rise the first time in a nice little warm spot in my kitchen until it doubled in size. And when I deflated it, I was left with the same completely sticky dough as I had started off with, no nice lovely little pillow of goodness. So, I ended up adding what I am sure was WAY too much flour, just to make it workable, and even then I had to roll it out in between two pieces of parchment because it would not stop clinging on to my rolling pin for dear life. And then I probably didn’t roll it out thin enough.

Once I finally fought it down, the rest was relatively easy, but I think the damage had already been done. I was also baking it in three mini-loaves, which I took out after about 25 minutes – and that might have been a few minutes too long. The flavor was good, but instead of the delicate pull-apart layers I was expecting, the bread was sort of dense and a little bit dry. I mean, yes, it was edible, and certainly better after being warmed up a bit, but it was not exactly what I was hoping for. I will try again.

They still looked cute though, right?

 

Leave a comment