TWD: Oatmeal Breakfast Bread

Considering it has been riDICulouslyhot and humid in the greater DC area for the last, I don’t know, gazillion weeks, it was a little odd that I found myself craving oats. I’ve just had a hankering for oaty, oatmealy, cinnamony, crumbly baked goods. You’d think I’d be more about citrusy, summery, fruity things, but no. I guess you can take the girl out of the Fall, but you can’t take the Fall out of the girl. What can I say.

So, how very perfect that this week’s recipe totally fit the bill! As usual I nixed the cloves and nutmeg and amped up the cinnamon quite a bit, and instead of making one big loaf, I made one batch of mini muffins and then two mini loaves. Oh, and I used chopped up dried cherries. The mini muffins were scrumptious – not sure if it was because of the size, but they had this sort of chewy, slightly crispy outside and a yummy, squishy (in a good way) inside. I didn’t hack into the little loaves, but based on the fact that three of my coworkers stopped by to comment on them, I would say they were probably pretty yummy too.

Definitely a keeper. Check out Natalie’s blog for the recipe and some fabulous pictures (and lots of other great stuff too!).

5 thoughts on “TWD: Oatmeal Breakfast Bread

  1. All of the heat and humidity here has had me yearning for cooler days and warm, autumn scents coming from my kitchen. You are not alone. 🙂 Great shot of some delicious looking muffins!

Leave a Reply

