TWD: Raisin Swirl Bread

…better known this week for me as Cinnamon Swirl Bread. Just can’t quite bring myself to include those raisins!

I’ll admit that I was a little overwhelmed when I read this recipe – I know that I am not alone in my general fear of anything involving yeast or for me especially, rolling out dough. But I powered through and low and behold I found this was not the daunting task I had expected!! The dough came together pretty easily (and YAY, it was the first time I got to use the dough hook on my mixer, so that in itself was fun to watch), I scraped it out into plastic and kept it in the fridge overnight. I didn’t have any trouble at all rolling it out (the appropriate amount of flour for the surface and the dough I find is key…) or rolling it up.

I think my house must be on the chilly side, because the only thing that didn’t match up to the recipe was rising time. It took almost 3 hours to rise the first time, and nearly an hour and half to rise the second time (I finally gave up and put it in a barely warm oven with the door open, and voila!).

It certainly smelled delish and was really yummy warm…I will bring it in to the test kitchen tomorrow and give it a whirl. 🙂 Thanks to Susan at Food.Baby for a great pick – you can find the recipe and her beautiful bread here!

4 thoughts on “TWD: Raisin Swirl Bread

  1. My house was cold that day. It made it nice for baking but the rising took longer for me too!
    Your bread looks great and I love the swirl. Did you try it french toast style? If not you must!! It’s so good!!

Leave a Reply

