TWD: Tender Shortcakes

Yikes, when I logged in to post this weeks TWD recipe, I realized just how long it had been since I posted last. GASP. It’s not that I haven’t been baking/cooking because I have! I may be, um, just a little backed up in the blogging department. I’m back on it now though, thanks too to the fact that I picked up my first ever CSA share today from Potomac Vegetable Farms in Vienna, VA. SO EXCITED. It’s like Christmas every Monday – this week I have swiss chard, garlic scapes, turnips, fresh dill…just a big bag full of beautiful leafy greens that I can’t wait to dig in to!

Anyhoo, back to this week’s recipe, chosen by Cathy from The Tortefeasor. Way back in my more confused days, I used to whip up shortcakes using Bisquick (yes, I know). Then one of my friends showed me the light – and the ease and deliciousness – of whipping some up from scratch. I have a recipe I’ve been using for several years now, so was interested to see how these compared.

I made them straight from the recipe, just adding a touch of cinnamon (like I do to everything), and found them to be just lovely with some fresh berries. My old recipe and this one don’t differ too much, I can keep both on rotation!

7 thoughts on “TWD: Tender Shortcakes

  1. Glad you’re back! Your shortcakes look just perfect (way better than Bisquick!) and I am so glad that you enjoyed them! Thank you so much for baking along with me this week!

Leave a Reply

