TWD: Honey-Wheat Cookies

Sigh. It’s that time of year again. That time where I abstain from any and all sweet foods for 40 days, where I would normally go through a pack of gum while baking just so I could continue to bake and not even absentmindedly lick my fingers or taste the dough…that is if I hadn’t decided to give up gum this year too (I decided I was chewing it a little too much). But yes, it’s Lent. So for the next several weeks I will avoid all sweets (not to mention all fried food too – but that doesn’t seem to cause me much grief really, unless someone plops a big basket of chips and salsa in front of me) and although I will continue the TWD recipes, I think I’m going to focus on some other way to use my FABULOUS new mixer…maybe bread.

Anyhoo. From the sound of these cookies, chosen by Michelle at Flour Child, I wasn’t too worried about my first Lenten baking experience. I mean…wheat germ? Eh, can’t be that good. But then the dough smelled delish, and the kitchen smelled fantastic, and so after baking and madly chomping down an apple (my gum replacement) I ever so quickly bagged them all up for my roommate to give to the kind folks who (while she was out) shoveled her spot in the parking lot where the plow had dumped 8 feet of snow. So at least they went toward a worthy cause.

As for the taste, I can’t say – they looked lovely though. Not sure I will hear any reports back from the neighbors (and even if they did, I’m sure none of them would ever say anything bad about them!) so maybe I’ll give them another shot post Lent. I’ll have to remember next time to sneak a few in a bag and hide them in the back of the freezer till Easter.

5 thoughts on “TWD: Honey-Wheat Cookies

  1. They look great. We decided that we were going to DO things this year (charitable things) rather than just give something up, and I have to say, I love it. I was thinking that giving up food was something I was doing for me, but doing things for others is looking outside myself. I don’t know…going with it this year and see how it works out. We are doing something each day as a family and then each of us is doing something on our own as well.

  2. I agree with Megan-you need to try these once Lent is over. They are such a simple, but tasty cookie that’s great with a cup of tea. Yours look very delicious!

Leave a Reply

