Some Fun with Eggroll Wrappers

I stayed home on Friday night. I did. I’ve been traveling like a maniac and all I could think about all week was making myself dinner, having a glass (um, or two) of wine, catching up on my laundry and watching something sort of mindless on tv. And let me tell you, it was all that and a bag of chips. I’m single and should probably have been out doing something or meeting people, but I promised myself I would save that for Saturday night and I enjoyed every little minute.

So after I watched my first DVR’d episode of “Chopped” (love that show) I ventured into the kitchen. I sort of had this post lingering in the back of my mind (thanks for the inspiration, Katie!) but decided instead to take a Mexican twist on it.

No real measurements here – just mixed up in a little bowl some canned black beans (rinsed and drained), some canned corn, a handful of chopped green onions, some diced up orange bell pepper, salt, and pepper. Then I mixed in some shredded Mexican cheese blend. One at a time, I laid out the eggroll wrapper, put about 1/3 cup of the mixture into each one, wet the edges with water, and folded and wrapped them on up!

I sprayed them with cooking spray (both sides), and set them on a cookie rack on top of a baking sheet (lined with foil for easy cleanup!), popped them into the oven which was preheated to 400 for about 20 minutes. I flipped them over somewhere around the halfway mark. YUM, and super duper easy. As I was slicing them, I thought too that they would be great appetizers sitting open side up around a bowl of salsa or guacamole – perfect for Superbowl Sunday even!

One thought on “Some Fun with Eggroll Wrappers

Leave a Reply

