TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars

Wow, I feel like I haven’t posted in forever! I’ve been on sort of  a forced hiatus from baking as I was out of town for ten days (Vail and then Tucson), came home and a week later was off to an amazing wedding in New Orleans. What a fabulous few weeks! But alas I am home (for a while at least…) and can get back to some experimenting in the kitchen.

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, chosen by Lilian of Confectiona’s Realm, was a most delicious way to break the dry spell! I stuck to the recipe which just one exception – I am not a big raisin and chocolate person (nope, never understood Raisinettes), so instead I mixed in just under a cup of sweetened coconut with the chocolate. I did also dig in a wee bit early, and found – just like Dorie said  – that these are better cold right out of the fridge. YUM.

I may consider next time making a thinner layer of chocolate too because I really liked the oatmeal base. But I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

7 thoughts on “TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars

  1. I left out the raisins too. How was is with coconut? I like mine best at room temperature when they’re a bit gooey, but I just had a cold one for breakfast and it was pretty good too:)

  2. I liked them at room temperature. Though, honestly I can’t say if I would like them cold as every time I pick one up to put it in the fridge, I eat it! Yours look great!

  3. You’re the third person I’ve seen who added coconut — I really wish I’d thought of that. They must have been amazing. Thanks for baking with me this week!

Leave a Reply

