TWD: Sugar-Topped Molasses Spice Cookies

I love the fact that this month we can decide which of the November recipes to make each week – so fun and so flexible, especially around the holiday season. Thanks TWD!!

IMG_1842

My grandmother’s recipe for gingersnaps is one of my very favorite holiday time cookies, and because I make those nearly every year, I haven’t tried too many other options that would fall into a similar category. These, however, may  have just changed that! Yummy and chewy with a crisp edge, and I just love the sugar on top. And not only were they super easy breezy, but they come out so perfectly round and crackled that tied up in little bags with some ribbon, these would make ideal gifts.

IMG_1841a

I only made a few teeny tiny tweaks – I generally like smaller cookies than the bigs ones that this recipe turns out, so I rolled mine into 1″ or maybe 1 1/4″ balls, and therefore made probably twice as many – for that reason, they also only took 10 minutes to bake. I also left out the allspice, and upped the cinnamon and ginger (my two favorite spices). These would be SO perfect with some pumpkin or dulce de leche ice cream sandwiched in the middle…mmmmm…

IMG_1853

Thanks so much to Pamela for a great pick! Can I make these every week? Does that count? 😉

6 thoughts on “TWD: Sugar-Topped Molasses Spice Cookies

Leave a Reply

