TWD: Allspice Crumb Muffins

After skipping out on the pudding (I generally stay away from the pudding-y, custard-y recipes), I was happy to see that Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table chose Allspice Crumb Muffins as this week’s TWD recipe. It was a perfect way to welcome the sort of fall-ish weather that is creeping up on us in Northern Virginia. I say “sort of” and “fall-ish” because it was still 80 something last Friday, and this Friday we are headed for the 40’s. And that, in a nutshell, explains our typical fall weather.

IMG_1316

I LOVE the fall and everything about it, even the crazy weather, but especially the colors and the smells and the fact that somehow it all makes me feel like baking. A lot. This is a lucky time of year for my co-workers.

IMG_1337

Anyhoo, I really enjoyed these muffins, not to mentioned they smelled heavenly. The only swaps I made were to use 2% milk, and then instead of actually using allspice, I used a hefty (as in more than double the called for amount!) combination of cinnamon and ginger, along with orange zest.

Looking forward to some more fall flavors next week!

6 thoughts on “TWD: Allspice Crumb Muffins

  1. So happy you liked the muffins and are welcoming in fall! Your muffins look really great, inside and out! Thanks for baking with me this week…your muffins are really nice!

  2. Orange zest sounds fantastic. I’ll have to remember that when I make them next week. 🙂 And you really can’t go wrong with ginger and cinnamon, can you?

Leave a Reply

