My First Customer!

I am pretty sure that in the world of food bloggers, I am not alone in keeping a small part of my dream world reserved for that bakery that I’ll open someday. It’s a lovely thing to think about – turning something you really love and are passionate about into a full time career? Pure bliss. So although it may be a long ways off for me (or, um, destined to remain in my dream world, which is totally fine too!), I’d be lying if I didn’t feel just a little giddy when my neighbor – who has been the recipient of my baking “overflow” before – asked if I ever got commissioned to bake! GASP. It was a simple request – a dozen cupcakes for her mother’s birthday, and a hanful of extras for her to hold on to. Chocolate cupcakes, white frosting, some kind of decoration.

IMG_1116

Needless to say, I spent WAY too many hours obsessing about which recipe to use as I am not a big cupcake maker, and didn’t have a standard. Well, the cupcake recipe itself turned out to be the easy part – I went with Cooks Illustrated Dark Chocolate Cupcakes. The frosting, on the other hand…ohhhhh the frosting. I tried four recipes: King Arthur Flour’s Easy Vanilla Frosting (easy and piped nicely, but way to sugary for me), a 7-Minute Frosting from Pillsbury, my oldest cookbook in the cabinet (a lovely white, shiny frosting and good taste, sort of marshmallow-y though), a “true” Swiss Meringue Buttercream (which really just tasted like butter), and FINALLY what I have dubbed as the Nirvana of Cupcake Frosting, a White Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting from here. And for those of you who are wondering, yes, I probably gained five pounds in the process. 🙂

IMG_1183b

Anyhoo, I think they came out great and I will file those recipes away as tried and (definitely) tested keepers, for the next batch I need to make – for money, or WAY more likely, just for fun. This was never about the money anyway. I would have done it for free. Shhh. 🙂

IMG_1194

IMG_1195a

IMG_1184

3 thoughts on “My First Customer!

Leave a Reply

