New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

Okay, so I FINALLY took my turn. After reading about them and drooling over pictures for months, I thought it was about time I give these things a go. I mean, it’s not like they are any more difficult than your average cookie – the ingredients are a little harder to come by, and you’ve got to endure 24 hours of cookie dough screaming your name from the refrigerator, but otherwise, they were perfectly easy.

IMG_1450a

I did break the mold a LITTLE in that I couldn’t imagine what I was going to do with cookies that were made with 3 1/2 ounces of dough EACH. In my world, a golf ball (as noted in the recipe) is about 1 1/2 ounces and I even thought that was making a large cookie. 3 1/2 ounces was more like a baseball! I was envisioning having to cut these in quarters or put up a sign by them at work touting them as meal replacements. And besides, at least some of them were destined to become ice cream sandwiches for the TWD recipe this week (vanilla ice cream) and I didn’t quite want those to be the size of my head either. So the smaller version won out, and I shortened the baking time to 15 minutes.

IMG_1437

Anyhoo, my review? Pretty delish. I love the salt and the contrast to the dark chocolate, and the fact that they aren’t overly sweet…and the consistency is great too, sort of that crispy/chewy thing going on. Hm. Now they are staring me down. I might need another.

IMG_1466

You can find the recipe here. Give ’em a try.

7 thoughts on “New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Ok, ok, I’ll make them! I’ve been resisting the NY Times recipe bandwagon for some time now but you’re pics just broke my resolve. Although waiting 24 hours is going to be super tough!

  2. I tried these this summer too and ended up making them many times… tweaking as I went along… I had to learn how they cooked in my specific oven and how i liked them. I think I added a bit more baking soda and unless i made them REALLY big, they’d be too dry or something. Making them huge made them PERFECT.

  3. yes, this was a veryyyy delicious recipe and i did the same by reducing the portion size. your friends would have laughed so hard at the “meal replacement” sign though!

  4. Pingback: TWD: Vanilla Ice Cream « Honey Muffin

Leave a Reply

