Cherry Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

 IMG_1410b

After passing by them a dozen times in the grocery store, I finally caved and bought an utterly scrumptious bag of fresh cherries. But, have you seen those bags? They are huge! Aside from just popping them plain, plump and juicy, right into my mouth (made easier courtesy of my new favorite kitchen tool) I decided I should find some way to use a whole bunch. The result? Cherry Vanilla Frozen Yogurt.

I used the base recipe I had used before, and just sort of estimated how many cherries to add. Another addition to the recipe, which I will keep in some variation in future recipes, is vodka – SO helpful in keeping a lovely creamy texture and avoiding that “frozen so hard it could be used as a weapon” syndrome that I have faced before.

OH, and the melty thing is courtesy of the 85 degree weather. Hot days and taking pictures of ice cream outside is tricky business.

IMG_1423a

Cherry Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

  • 3 cups Fage 2% Greek Yogurt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 TBS Vanilla Vodka (I used Absolut – the mini bottles are perfect for these uses!)
  • Roughly 2 cups pitted, chopped fresh cherries

Combine yogurt, sugar, vanilla and vodka. Add cherries. Chill for 30 minutes. Freeze in ice cream maker according to directions. Transfer to freezer container, line top with plastic wrap and freeze.

Leave a Reply

