Cookies for the Boat: Chewy Butterscotch Grahams

Once again this Memorial Day weekend, I am headed out on a sailboat – this time for three days and two nights (fingers crossed for good weather!!). Aside from the normal grocery shopping, I, of course, have to bring a goodie…now, I thought it would make total sense if I could make next week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, but I just wasn’t sure about all that chocolate on a warm boat (plus 3 1/2 sticks of butter??? SIGH…I am going to need to give ALL those away!).

IMG_0974a

Anyhoo. I went back to an old chocolate-free favorite which I am pretty sure originally came from Nestle. I love the base of this cookie dough – I could eat a graham cracker crust with a fork in front of the tv (I don’t…but I could), so anything graham is up my alley. I am not a huge fan of straight up butterscotch chips as they are just too sweet for even me, but in this cookie they work like a charm. I keep thinking I should experiment with other flavors in there too…hmmmm…

IMG_0975a

Try them, they are delish and big fan favorite!

Chewy Butterscotch Graham Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 package (11-oz.) butterscotch chips

Directions:
PREHEAT oven to 350° F.

COMBINE graham cracker crumbs, flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar in large mixer bowl until creamy. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract; gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until set. Cool for 2 minutes on baking sheets; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

5 thoughts on “Cookies for the Boat: Chewy Butterscotch Grahams

  1. hello!
    i made these cookies today, and they do not resemble your beautiful cookies at all! i was wondering if yours ever turned out like mine, ie: flat and sad. i added some extra flour, probably a scant 1/4 cup, after the first batch, but they still didn’t turn out and differently. thanks! (they still taste yummy!)

  2. Maggie! So sorry they didn’t turn out! Not sure why that could be…did you use butter or margarine? I used butter, that might have something to do with it? I also weighed my flour (assuming 4 1/2 ounces in one cup). Was the dough fairly stiff? Also…I baked on parchment.

  3. i used butter and baked them on a silpat. the dough was a soft, but still scoopable. it resembled cookie dough. i don’t know what i did wrong! i was wondering if it was because i pulverized the graham cracker crumbs, they resembled the flour, were they supposed to have chunks left in them? thanks for the recipe anyway! i’ll try to make these another time!

  4. Pingback: Cinnamon Chocolate Graham Bars (and cookies!) « Honey Muffin

Leave a Reply

