Scones Part II: Blueberry with Lemon and Toasted Pecans

So, Mom got her cinnamon scones for Mother’s Day…and since I’m on a kick, and my father’s birthday always falls right around the same, guess what he’s getting?? I pondered a bunch of different recipes – I knew I definitely wanted to try something different so that I could compare the two – and I came very close to drinking the “Cooks Illustrated Blueberry Scones” Kool-Aid. Now don’t get me wrong, I really, really love my Cooks Illustrated – no ads, loads of fascinating research (the kind that makes me want to work in a test kitchen!!), and some amazing recipes. But they are also usually fairly complicated, and since it’s a Monday night, I was in the mood for something a little simpler!

IMG_0923

I remembered that a friend of mine at work had brought in scones a few times that his wife made – so I hit him up for the secret recipe, and he happily gave it to me! This was a very different approach – no butter, no eggs, just flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and…heavy cream. Now what on earth could be wrong with that!

Blueberry Scones with Lemon and Toasted Pecans

  • 3 1/4 cups all purpose flour (13.8 oz)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • Zest of one lemon
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups chilled heavy cream
  • ¾ cup toasted chopped pecans
  • 1 ½ cups frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Mix lemon zest with sugar until combined and fragrant.

Combine flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder and salt in large bowl.

Beat cream in another large bowl until stiff peaks form.

Add blueberries and pecans to flour mixture.

Fold whipped cream into dry ingredients.

Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface. Knead gently until soft dough forms. about 2 minutes. Form dough into ball; pat out to form 1 1/4-inch-thick round.

Using a 2-inch round cookie cutter, cut out scones and place on parchment lined baking sheets. Sprinkle with some turbinado sugar. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden!

They turned out nicely – sort of crisp on the outside, but soft on the inside. Definitely different than the IMG_0911aother versions! I also just noticed that the original directions said to pat the dough out to 1 1/4 inches, and in my head I thought it said 1/2 inch. Oh well! No love lost. So they are sorta like blueberry cookies instead!

My friend at work says they are best out of the oven, but I’m still going to do my best to keep them fresh and send them to my dad. We’ll see what his verdict is!

Leave a Reply

