Scones Part I: Snickerdoodle Scones

I was home a couple of weeks ago, and my mother was telling me how she and her friend loved the blueberry scones from Panera Bread. As soon as she said that, my baker wheels started turning – Mother’s Day was coming up, I figured scones would be something I could tackle (and ship easily!), and I was SURE that my fellow bloggers could point me in the right direction! Now, I haven’t ever had one from Panera (though without fail if I stop in there for coffee, I “browse” the baked goods…and they look YUM), and my only real base for comparison were the scones from Starbucks, which are only sort of “eh.” Heavy and dense and generally NWTC (not worth the calories!).

IMG_2295a

So I took some inspiration from Craving Comfort and tackled the Snickerdoodle version. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, with a few minor tweaks. The recipe makes 8, but I only shipped 7 -wooops! They turned out nice and light, good texture, very cinnamony – and hopefully they shipped well overnight!

Snickerdoodle Scones (adapted from Craving Comfort)

Makes 8

  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I used light)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 cups flour (8.5 oz)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (I froze one stick to use)
  • 1 egg (1/4 cup egg whites)
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon (heaping!)
  • turbinado sugar for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. Combine sour cream and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.
  4. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, cream of tartar, salt and cinnamon in another bowl.
  5. Grate the frozen butter into the flour mix and combine with a pastry cutter.
  6. Combine egg substitute with sour cream mixture.
  7. Gently stir into flour mixture until moist.
  8. Place on the baking sheet and pat into a 3/4 inch thick circle.
  9. Cut into 8 wedge shaped pieces. Move slightly so they are not touching.
  10. Dust with turbinado sugar.
  11. Bake 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Scones Part II coming next week (it’s my father’s birthday)!

2 thoughts on “Scones Part I: Snickerdoodle Scones

  1. one of the things I love to bake (and eat) are scones so I am always looking for new and delicious recipes. These definitely fit the bill. Will try them this week end, I hope. Thanks. They look wonderful.

Leave a Reply

