“I Might Eat It All” Coffee Cake

img_0848

Ever taste something and think to yourself, “I think I could eat this whole thing. No, really. I could. And I would actually be really happy about it???” This might fall into that category. For me, at least. I am a cinnamon addict (“Hi, my name is Lynne, and I’m a Cinnamon Addict.”), and when cinnamon and chocolate combine, it comes very close to my heaven.

img_0843

I was sitting at work today feeling the urge to bake, so to get inspired I searched on “cinnamon” in both foodgawker and tastespotting. My goodness, there were a ton of things I could have stuck a fork straight through my screen to get at. But somehow, the one that was hitting home was coffee cake! There are a slew of delicious looking coffee cakes, I decided to opt for a combination of several (primarily inspired by Pete Bakes).

img_0847

Man oh man, this is good stuff. I am sitting by myself wishing that someone would come prevent me from finishing off the whole thing.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

  • 1 stick of butter, room temperature
  • 1 ½ cups of sugar
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • ½ cup egg substitute
  • 1 cup light sour cream
  • 1 TBS vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp water
  • 8 ½ oz flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of Kosher salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 6 oz. chocolate chips
  • ½ cup toasted pecans

 Preheat oven to 350. Spray a 9X13 pan with cooking spray (or a spray/flour combo like Bakers Joy).

  1. Mix ½ cup white sugar, brown sugar, pecans, cinnamon, and chocolate chips. Set aside.
  2. Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, use a hand/stand mixer to cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and continue beating until light and fluffy (about 3 minutes).
  4. Add vanilla and  sour cream and beat until combined.
  5. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients, and mix by hand until completely combined.
  6. Spread half of the batter into the pan – it might look thin, but don’t worry!
  7. Sprinkle half of the sugar/chocolate chips/nuts mixture evenly over the top.
  8. Spread the remaining batter over that mixture, and top with an even layer of the remaining sugar mix.
  9. Bake for 30 minutes. Wait about 30 minutes to cut – the chips are still soft, but it’s easy enough to cut.
  10. Walk away from the kitchen and lock the door. Or you might have to walk the whole thing out to the dumpster so you don’t eat it all.
One thought on ““I Might Eat It All” Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

