My Second Artisan Bread Recipe: Cinnamon Bread

Yahoo! I’ve now made two batches of the original recipe from the most fabulous Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day book. I used it to make baguettes (which sopped up a most delicious broth with mussels), and several smaller loafs which I gave to friends at work (and they RAVED about them). So I thought with that under my belt, I would move on to a different recipe.

img_0783b1

I am heading home this weekend for some girl time with my mom, and was trying to figure out what to bake (I always bake and bring something!). Since I was on this bread kick, I flipped through the book to find a buttermilk recipe that I could use to make cinnamon bread. Same basic idea – make a very wet dough which rises for a couple hours, refrigerate it overnight, and grab a hunk to make the bread. The difference with this one (as opposed to the original) is that you roll it flat, sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar, roll it back up and let it rest again for a couple hours. Great out of the oven, and toasted it is deeeeelish!

img_0800b

One thought on “My Second Artisan Bread Recipe: Cinnamon Bread

  1. I make that bread every week as sandwich rolls for my kids’ lunches. I just made the rye dough last night (but haven’t baked it yet). I have buttermilk dough in the fridge and now I’m going to give this a try! It looks super!

Leave a Reply

