My Latest Grain Obsession: Red Quinoa

In the past year or so, I’ve had this sorta love affair with whole wheat couscous – you know, the kind you can make in like 5 minutes with a little chicken broth and any random slew of herbs? Love it. And I still love it. You can whip it up with just about anything for a quick, “cooking for 1” dinner.

Over the last week or so, however, I’ve been intrigued by some other grains – grains for the most part that I’ve tried before, but just never latched on to…barley, wheatberries, Israeli couscous (which is just really teeny pasta balls, by the way – not sure what exactly I was expecting, but that wasn’t it!)…and quinoa. I had made quinoa in the past, know all about the fabulous health benefits, but had never tried the RED version. YUM. It might have to be my dinner for the next week. You can make it in just 15 or 20 minutes, couldn’t be any easier, and has this sort of nutty yummy flavor that is a little bit bolder and more substantial than couscous.

img_0785a

No real recipe for this one – just sauteed some green onion, mushrooms and zucchini and tossed it all in there with some fresh dill, fresh lemon juice and feta cheese – and voila! Would also be great with some grilled chicken or shrimp in there too. I’ll save that for next time.

img_0792b1

One thought on “My Latest Grain Obsession: Red Quinoa

Leave a Reply

