TWD: Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding

I never used to like bread pudding – I think there are clearly two schools on this one, the lovers and the haters. Well, a couple years ago, my roommate said she wanted bread pudding for her birthday and well, I think that was my turnaround! I’ve made several kinds in the past – mostly chocolate based – so I was excited to try Dorie’s version picked by Lauren of Upper East Side Chronicle (not to mention it’s one of those pictures I always stop at when flipping through the book!).

 breadpudding2

I did make some changes, in an effort to make it just a WEE bit healthier – I used a crusty loaf of whole wheat bread, 2% milk and half and half, egg substitute instead of eggs (I did use real egg yolks) and also added some toasted pecans (I did include dried cherries too as I love dark chocolate and cherries together) and a dash of cinnamon. I also halved the recipe and used an 8X8 baking dish.

 

breadpudding4

The end result? It was okay. Definitely could have been my recipe tweaks…but I don’t know that I’d do it again, or if I did, I might go back to challah, and actually include some chocolate chips in there as well. I guess you can only get so far trying to “healthify” bread pudding!

7 thoughts on “TWD: Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding

  1. I made this twice. The first time with wheat bread and it was “eh”. The second time with a big tall white loaf and it was delish! I am more of a vanilla custard bread pudding person, but I really liked the chocolate version too. It was great paired with chocolate sauce or cream anglaise!

  2. Surprisingly, I didn’t lighten up this one – I think it’s meant for full fat and all. It looks wonderful, so I’m sorry you weren’t a huge fan.

Leave a Reply

