Turkey Burgers and Baked Zucchini

I don’t know where my cravings come from. Sometimes I see something in a commercial, and often I can attribute them to other food blogs, but then other times I just get something in my head from who knows where that I can’t shake. Like today, it was pickles, turkey burgers and zucchini fries. Luckily, this was an easy endeavor!

turkey-burgers-and-baked-zucchini-004a

I found a pretty well rated turkey burger recipe that looked healthy and easy (not to mention a great use of my new grill pan!). I served them with tomato and a slice of light cheddar from Trader Joe’s, and we had them on my favorite Arnold Sandwich Thins.

The zucchini was inspired from several lovely pictures on many food blogs. I just used whatever I had in the cabinet. Delish!!

 

Turkey Burgers with Grated Zucchini and Carrot

(from Real Simple magazine)

 

¾ pound ground turkey breast

1 medium zucchini, grated

1 medium carrot, grated

2 garlic cloves, minced

¾ teaspoon dried thyme

¾ teaspoon kosher salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 large egg, slightly beaten

 

In large bowl, combine the turkey, zucchini, carrot, garlic, thyme, salt, pepper and egg. Form mixture into 4 patties.

 

Spray grill pan with nonstick spray and heat over medium high. Cook the patties about 4 to 5 minutes on each side.

 

Zucchini “Fries”

1 large zucchini, cut up into matchstick slices

¼ cup of egg whites

¼ cup of panko

¼ cup of grated parmesan cheese

Garlic powder

Italian spice blend

 

Heat oven to 425. Mix panko, parmesan cheese, garlic powder and spice blend. Dip zucchini pieces in egg white, then dredge in panko mix. Bake for 23 – 25 minutes or until crispy and brown.

For me, this is an ideal 30 minute meal. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

