TWD: Blueberry Crumb Cake

Sigh. Another week with delicious smelling goodies that I can’t eat. This twd-blueberry-crumb-cake-008week’s recipe, chosen by Sihan (check out her adorable site here!), was Dorie’s Blueberry Crumb Cake  a seemingly great standard for any brunch (and for my father especially who loves all that is blueberry!).  It looks and smells delish, but the true test always comes when I bring it into work (especially since I can’t taste it myself). Test results? Disappearance in less than 90 minutes.

I followed the recipe twd-blueberry-crumb-cake-013aalmost exactly – using frozen blueberries (the organic kind from Whole Foods which turned out to be very tiny!) and lemon zest. I did swap out 1/2 cup plain yogurt for the buttermilk since I didn’t realize that I didn’t have any until I was ready to bake. Woops. And I also added cinnamon into the crumb topping because I can’t get enough cinnamon…not that it matters since I can’t eat this anyway…okay, enough moping about that! My cake also baked for closer to 75 minutes – at 55 it was still very runny.

I stole a corner for pictures, but then stuffed it back in the dish! Maybe I’ll take it back out again and pop it in the freezer until Easter. Yum.

5 thoughts on “TWD: Blueberry Crumb Cake

Leave a Reply

