TWD: French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze

My mother and I share very similar tastes in many ways (this always begs the question of whether what your mom eats when she is pregnant affects your taste buds??). We could both eat plates of anything with spinach in it, endless bowls of apple/cinnamon goodies, coffee ice cream, and probably a bushel of toffee. But one of the things she’s always loved that has never really caught my fancy is lemon – lemon muffins, bread, and her all-time favorite, lemon merigue pie.

Oddly enough, in the last month or so, I’ve had a bug for anything lemon…salmon with lemon and dill, fresh lemon juice on my salads…not sure what it is, but it hasn’t gone away yet. So when this week’s French Yogurt Cake filled up every corner with a delicious warm lemon smell (the zest and sugar alone smelled heavenly!)…I nearly keeled over. Lent Schment. Darnit if I couldn’t have one little bit. So I snapped one quick picture, skipped the marmalade glaze and whipped up a little drizzle of lemon juice and powdered sugar, and practically raced the thing into work.

park-city-lemon-bread-stromboli-008

I set it out at 8:30, and by 10:30 all that was left was a piece of parchment and some scattered crumbs. Clearly successful, thanks to Liliana for a great choice! I’ll have to make this again after Easter…

6 thoughts on “TWD: French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze

  1. Your cake looks great! I can’t believe you were able to resist. Good for you. 🙂 Definitely make it again when you can have some. It’s sooo good!

Leave a Reply

