Everyday Food Stromboli (and my cousin’s pizza dough)

Lent continues to be a challenge – especially on days like today, when it’s cold and rainy and sort of blah and supremely perfect for baking. Sigh. So instead of baking something sweet (the TWD French Yogurt Cake is taunting me…must…take…to…work…soon…), I opted for another experiment with active yeast  – this time in the form of pizza dough, to be used in a broccoli stromboli recipe from Everyday Food.

The dough, for a first attempt, could NOT have been any easier – not sure where the recipe originally came from, so I will credit my cousin Susan. I’ll definitely try it again with pizza! The stromboli was good  – a simple recipe (in a section labeled “Meals Under $10!), came together very easily, but could definitely use some more seasoning.

park-city-lemon-bread-stromboli-011a2park-city-lemon-bread-stromboli-013apark-city-lemon-bread-stromboli-015

park-city-lemon-bread-stromboli-017

The stromboli recipe is here.

And in her words, My Cousin Susan’s Pizza Dough Recipe:

1 package active dry yeast
2/3 cup warm water
1 tsp sugar
Stir yeast and sugar into water and let stand until foamy (recipe says 10 minutes, I don’t usually have that kind of time – ha! – perhaps would be better if I did)

In cuisinart put 1 and 2/3 cup flour and 3/4 tsp salt. I’ve done all kinds of combo’s with whole grain flour. 1 cup all purpose and 2/3 cup whole grain is OK – very healthy tasting so adjust accordingly.

Turn on and add the yeast mixture through the top. When dough pulls away from sides and starts forming a ball (usually in like 30 seconds), add 2 tsp olive oil. I never measure that, just pour a bit in. Process about 1 min. more. Done!

Sometimes I cover with a towel and let rise, prob only 30 min. or you can spray oil in a bowl and put in fridge, cover with saran. Or you can make your pizza right away. I also use this for stromboli and calzones, etc. without the whole grain flour

2 thoughts on “Everyday Food Stromboli (and my cousin’s pizza dough)

Leave a Reply

