TWD: Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

Many thanks to Clara from iheartfood4thought, who selected Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes from Dorie Greenspan’s book this week, for giving me the excuse to make these. I’m not the biggest chocoholic – if I had a dessert menu in front of me, I’m more likely to go for something apple-vanilla-toffee-cinnamonish before the seriously chocolate stuff. But every now and then a solid dose of chocolate is just good for what ails you.

Not to mention, I LOVE frosting and icing. So much so that I can’t keep it anywhere near me for fear that I will slowly but surely conquer the whole thing one spoonful at a time. It goes on the list of things that must be taken directly to the dumpster for fear of a Sex in the City dive into the trashcan moment. Ah. But I digress.

After reading posts from some of the other TWD participants, I made only some very small tweaks to the recipe. First of all, I measured my flour. I’ve been reading more about the different methods of measuring out flour, and the importance of using weight (there could be as much as a 1 – 2 oz. variation in a one cup of flour!), so following King Arthur guidelines, I weighed out 4.25 ounces of flour. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon as I just love the combination of cinnamon and chocolate – I would also consider adding some coffee next time as well? Then, after seeing notes about these coming out somewhat dry, I added in a hefty dollop (probably a quarter cup) of sour cream to the batter.

And finally, for the icing I used a Lindt chocolate that was laced with holiday spices – very subtle, but very yummy. I tried the batter (major weakness) but not the finished product – hard to tell if the fact that they all disappeared from the office kitchen before 10am was any indication that they were good or just that they were there!

7 thoughts on “TWD: Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Cinnamon, sour cream, Lindt chocolate… All your adaptions sound yummy! Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

Leave a Reply

