TWD: Pumpkin Muffins

The saying goes, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” There should be a similar one that says, “When life gives you pumpkins, make pumpkin muffins…or, pumpkin ANYthing for that matter!”

I love the fall – all the flavors, the spices, the colors, the weather, the smell – all of it. It’s probably my favorite season, and it very well could be my favorite time to bake. Baking just seems like the right thing to do – stay in the warm, cozy kitchen and whip up something that will make every other room smell like heaven. YUM. So of course, I hopped on the chance to make this week’s TWD selection, chosed by Kelly of Sounding My Barbaric Gulp – Pumpkin Muffins.

I did make a few tweaks. Ingredient wise, I found my grocery store VOID of canned pumpkin (Really? At this time of year?? Sacrilege.), so I replaced it with canned, pureed sweet potatoes. Then I could only find salted, roasted sunflower seeds – not being sure of how that would work, I dropped them altogether (ended up topping with just some cinnamon and sugar). I also tend not to bake with raisins – so those were replaced with a mix of dried cranberries and dried spiced apples, and I added only a pinch of nutmeg and upped the cinnamon (which I do in just about everything). I baked them in mini-muffin pans, as I figured that would spread the wealth a little more as these were surely headed right for the office.

Overall, the reviews were pretty positive. I’d definitely make them again – maybe even increase the cranberries and nuts and sprinkle in a little pumpkin pie spice? Ah, happy fall. 🙂

2 thoughts on “TWD: Pumpkin Muffins

  1. that’s so funny – we had to go to connecticut to find pumpkin! couldn’t find any in our neighborhood in manhattan. a gasoline shortage, i can understand, but a pumpkin shortage? WEIRD!

  2. that is funny….all I have to do is go out the door and down the road a couple of miles and there are scores of Amish who have pumpkins for sale. 🙂 However, I took the lazy way out and used canned pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

