TWD: Lenox Almond Biscotti

I’ve always liked making biscotti. I think it has something to do with the process – baking, cooling, slicing evenly with the serrated knife – it all feels very precise. Not to mention that I actually like the end product too, and the endless variations and ways to play up the recipe. So I was happy to see that Gretchen from Canela & Comino picked Lenox Almond Biscotti as this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe.

I opted for two variations: one with cranberries and pistachios, and the other with toffee and toasted almonds. I entertained the idea of adding chocolate to one or the other, but in the end, decided against it.

 I do have one confession to make, in the spirit of being honest…and that is that I found myself in the absence of cornmeal. I read some of the posts regarding the inclusion of this ingredient, and hung onto the suggestion that it was for texture. Last time  I was making pizza, instead of rolling the crust in cornmeal, we rolled it in grits. So I had this idea that I could replace the cornmeal with grits. HM. It didn’t seem to have any negative impact on appearance or flavor…and actually might slip by almost unnoticed…if it weren’t for the fact that after you’re done chewing it, you find yourself mysteriously picking grits out of your teeth (which for some reason I found mildly hilarious). I could have let that one small fact slip by, but I got such a kick out of it, I figured I’d share. Ah well, lesson learned!!

9 thoughts on “TWD: Lenox Almond Biscotti

  1. Oh man, these look great. I don’t think the lack of cornmeal matters, but some time you should try it. It takes these puppies from “good” to transcendental!

  2. I love the colors in the the cranberry-pistachio biscotti and the toffee-almond ones sound divine. I loved this recipe and will definitely try it again with different flavor combinations.

Leave a Reply

