My New Heaven

Off and on for a while, I have been gawking at stunning photos and fantastic sounding recipes for molten chocolate cakes, also sometimes called chocolate lava cakes. They always look so gooey and yummy – perfect specimens of chocolate deliciousness. But up until now, I’ve never given any of them a shot. This week I made two attempts.

My first, though not completely unsuccessful, was Dorie Greenspan’s recipe. The cakes came out dense and fudgy, sort of like a brownie consistency. Right out of the oven with some ice cream, they were actually very good. BUT, not sure if it was baker error or what, but when you cut them open, you didn’t get that lovely “lava” that I had seen so much. So, I decided to try again.

This time I tackled a recipe from Bon Appetit January 2001 (courtesy of epicurious.com). With 337 reviews, and a 4-fork rating, I thought this looked pretty well tested. The recipe includes a mint fudge sauce as well, but after reading reviews, I opted not to make the sauce and just to serve it up with the coffee ice cream I made the other night (see post below!). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I used Bakers Joy spray to coat the ramekins, rather than butter (a new find, I love the stuff), made them a few hours before dinner, and set them covered on the counter. When we were ready, they went in for exactly 11 minutes and popped right out with no problem.

One word: HEAVEN.

Molten Chocolate Cakes (adapted from Bon Appetit, January 2001)

 

Makes 6.

 

5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped

10 TBS unsalted butter

3 large eggs

3 large egg yolks

1 ½ cups powdered sugar

½ cup all purpose flour

 

Preheat oven to 450.

 

Butter or spray six ¾ cup (6 oz.) ramekins. Stir chocolate and butter in a heavy saucepan over low heat until melted. Cool slightly. Whisk eggs and egg yolks in large bowl to blend. Whisk in sugar, then chocolate mixture and flour. Divide batter equally among ramekins. **Can be made ahead! Just cover and chill.

 

Bake cakes 11 minutes – sides will be set, but center may remain soft-looking. Might take a few minutes longer for refrigerated batter.

Leave a Reply

