My Foray Into Squash: Spaghetti

It’s that time of year again, when every type of squash is spilling over on grocery store shelves. Although I love ALL fall foods, I must say my experience in actually cooking with them, especially squash, is limited. And by “limited” I mean I’ve never done it. Yes, I love butternut squash soup and lasagna with fall veggies…and really, I have no excuse for never having cooked them myself. So, I’m plucking them off one by one. The first victim was spaghetti squash.

Who knew it was so good and SO EASY? A quick zap in the microwave, a few minutes of scraping, and you have yourself a pile of deliciousness that probably needs little else but some salt and pepper.

But alas, I decided to pick a recipe from the zillions I came across. This was super fast, yummy, and made some enormous servings! My squash was exactly half of what it called for, so I simply halved the rest of it. This one is modified from Bon Apetit.

Baked Spaghetti Squash

 

1 3 ¾ to 4-pound spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise and seeded

1 pound Boca crumbles

1 cup chopped green bell pepper

1 cup chopped onion

½ cup chopped mushrooms

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 ½ cups marinara sauce

½ cup grated parmesan cheese

Onion powder, garlic powder, garlic salt, pepper to taste

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wrap squash halves in plastic, and cook one at a time in microwave on high until tender (6 – 8 minutes). Pierce plastic to allow steam to escape, and set to cool. Meanwhile, sauté boca, pepper, onion, garlic and mushrooms in heavy large skillet until softened up, about 5 minutes. Mix in marinara sauce.

 

Unwrap squash, and pull out strands using a fork, and leaving the shells intact.

 

Mix squash strands into mixture, season as desired. Spoon filling back into shells and place halves on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with parmesan and bake uncovered 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

