When Life Gives You Lemons

Not in that sense. I can’t say I have many sour days here. :-)

Walking through the market in Santander can be very dangerous. Well, no, make that walking through ANY market can be dangerous…for me, everything looks so pretty and fresh and colorful and sometimes things just jump out at me even though I have no idea what I’m going to do with them. Like once, I came home with like a 5 pound head of cauliflower – it was so perfect with the outside leaves on it and everything, I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture. But it sat on the shelf in the fridge, staring at me for probably three weeks? Maybe four? And I never did anything with it. Ooops.

But when lemons look pretty and shiny and bright yellow and accidentally leap into my bag to come home with me, those I can do something with. Aside from using fresh lemon juice on salads and in ice water, I was looking for an easy way to make something lemony, and as always, something share-able. These are some of my faaaaavorite cookies, but sadly coconut does not have a very big fan base here, so I decided to take the route of mini loaves instead.

I had seen this recipe¬†– or variations –¬†posted in quite a few places, and it sounded extra lemony and delish so I gave it a try.

Triple Lemony Mini Loaf

So here’s the thing. I hesitate to knock anything about a recipe because 9 times out of 10, I’m completely sure it has something to do with baker error. Especially when something TASTES really good. That was the case with these. I skipped the lemony-glaze because sometimes that’s just a bit much for me, but aside from that, and making them in mini-loaf pans, I followed the recipe as it was written. And what I found was that the flavor was really good – super lemony and tangy – but that the bottom part of the cake was sort of crumbly and dry, and that the top part was a little sort of sticky or something from the syrup.

I concluded it was probably because: 1) I didn’t poke the holes in the bread all the way to the bottom for the syrup to distribute all the way through the cake, 2) I didn’t use all the syrup, and 3) I could have left the mini loaves in a little too long because I was really just estimating using a cake tester to see if they were done. The other thing is that I’m still not convinced that ingredients in Spain are exactly the same as they are in the states. Maybe the flours have different consistencies, who knows.

Anyway. The BF really liked it, and he usually tells me when something is not quite right. Not sure I’ll make these again, or if I do, maybe I’ll make some tweaks and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

