Snickerdoodles

As I’ve said a million times before, I love all things cinnamon-y, and snickerdoodles are no exception. I had thought about making them here in Spain quite a few times, but almost all the recipes I found had cream of tartar – something which I can’t seem to find here. Maybe it’s somewhere…or maybe it’s everywhere and I just don’t know the Spanish name for it? This happens sometimes. Oh, look, I just found it in my handy dandy Spanish kitchen co-pilot and the Spanish name is “cremor t├írtaro. Nope, still haven’t seen it.

BUT, lucky for me my mother had mailed me some a while back, so out it came for a batch of cookies. I searched around for a while and came across this recipe, which caught my eye because her pictures looked EXACTLY like the snickerdoodle of my dreams. And also because I, too, have struggled with making them just right.

A couple different attempts...

As you can see from the picture, they did not all come out the same…the first batch flattened a little too much. I was thinking maybe it was because the dough or the cookie sheet wasn’t chilled enough. So I did a couple things…I adjusted the oven temp slightly (it’s tough to tell what 176C is on my oven…), left the dough overnight and picked up again in the morning, and then I actually popped the cookie sheet in the freezer, rolled all the balls up, took it out, lined ‘em all up and put it in the oven. Although they all tasted REALLY good, I liked the texture of the second batch better. They were a little less crispy, a little more like the picture that caught my attention in the first place.

Oh, and maybe I added more cinnamon too?

I have to keep experimenting too…I’ve read that European butter has a different water content, and this can impact your baking results. Might have to read up a little more in that.

 

Leave a Reply

