TWD: All-American All-Delicious Apple Pie

For the last few years I have been in charge of Thanksgiving desserts. It makes sense, right? I love to do it, and I can mostly bake ahead and bring whatever it is with me! I’ve done several versions of apple or pear pies in the past, though I usually opt for the crumbly topping  just because I could eat crumbly topping on anything and love it (or just plain, with a spoon…). But nonetheless, I don’t know that I have a “go-to” so I was happy to give this pie a shot at the title.

I ended up using 3 really large Granny Smith apples, and 3 smaller Macoon apples – I don’t know that I’ve ever baked with Macoons before, but they tasted sweet and crispy (not mealy) so I figured I would mix it up a little. The pie was easy enough to pull together, and looked and smelled beautiful, but I gotta say…I was a little disappointed! I baked it for the low end of the time and let it cool to room temp before we tried it, and sadly I found it to be sort of a mushy mess! Now, this could TOTALLY be baker’s error…like I said, I took a bit of a gamble with the different apples, but Granny Smiths are usually my norm and even they mooshed up! The flavor was good though, just not a fan of the texture…and maybe that’s just personal preference.

Anyhoo. The house still smells good and I’m pretty sure that there are people who will enjoy apple pie for breakfast at the office! Thanks to Emily for the pick this week, I was bound to give it a shot at some point (not to mention it gave me another excuse to use the leaf pie cutters!!!).

3 thoughts on “TWD: All-American All-Delicious Apple Pie

  1. Your crust looks great, and I like that leaf detail, too. Sorry about the mooshy factor. That stinks. But I do hope everyone at work enjoys the apple pie!

Leave a Reply

