TWD: Lots of Ways Banana Cake

I don’t like bananas. I know, that might make me weird, but I just don’t like them…in fact periodically, I will try one again just in case I was wrong the first hundred times (I do this with olives too), but it turns out that I never am. I am not alone, I realize there are other people who struggle with them, many for “texture” reasons – but I, unfortunately, give a big thumbs down to texture AND flavor. BUT, I also know that MOST people love banana-baked goods, so I figured I would give it a shot anyway and could find a handful of willing mouths to feed!

My version was fairly straight forward – I used buttermilk, toasted up about a cup and a half of coconut, ditched the nutmeg and instead added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. I ended up making 12 cupcakes/muffins and one round cake, and sprinked cinnamon sugar and some chopped up walnuts on them both. Needless to say, this got RAVE reviews. I put it in the kitchen at work and it was gone within the hour…not only that, but I had four people stop by to tell me how good it was. So, if I am baking for other people (or just feel like baking something that I won’t be tempted to shove in my fat face) this is absolutely a keeper.

Check out Kimberly’s blog for the recipe – it was her choice this week, and her cake looks fanTABulous!!

7 thoughts on “TWD: Lots of Ways Banana Cake

Leave a Reply

