TWD: Dressy Chocolate Loaf Cake

My first thought as I began to make this week’s TWD recipe was, “Thank heavens for air conditioning!” The DC area has had a string of 90+ degree days with humidity off the charts – weather in my book that does not necessarily scream for baking, much less baking something rich and chocolate. But, like I said, it was cool inside…so I forged ahead!

The cake itself couldn’t have been any easier. The only snafu I ran into was that I somehow managed to lose my grip while taking the little bowl of (really hot) raspberry jam out of the microwave, subsequently sending it EVERYwhere and turning the kitchen into something that looked a bit like a scene from CSI. Woops. And OUCH. All at the same time.

As far as taste goes, it was a little rich and heavy for me, but my guess is that my office chocoholic population is currently snarfing it down like the breakfast of champions. :-)

Check out Amy’s blog for her version and the recipe!

9 thoughts on “TWD: Dressy Chocolate Loaf Cake

  1. It has been so hot in DC this past week, hasn’t it? It’s supposed to get even hotter before it cools off. I agree, it’s so hard to bake when it’s this warm, but it looks like the chocoholics in your office appreciate your baking in the middle of a heat wave! Your cake looks fantastic.

  2. I hate when that happens and stuff gets every where! So frustrating. It’s been hot and humid here, too. My DH is really not enjoying the baking in the heat, so I try to do it really early in the morning. I hope I can keep up this summer. Your cake looks great!

  3. Love those faithful office eaters. Aren’t they the best ever? Sorry about the heat wave as well as the dangerously hot jumping jam. Yikes! be careful baking is supposed to be fun not dangerous to your health. he he
    Thank you so much for baking along with me. I like making new friends.
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

