TWD: Quick Classic Berry Tart

I will confess that I am one of those people who has issues with pastry cream. I don’t know why really, it’s not like I’ve had a string of awful experiences with it. In fact, I generally stay away from all recipes that involve custards or creams or pudding-like things. But I’ve had mini-tarts like this one at baby showers, etc. and remembered actually liking them…so I figured I’d give it a go.

What I would not call this, however, is “quick.” I mean, sure, quick once you’ve made the crust and made the pastry cream and cut up all your fruit…then it’s a jiff to pull together. But otherwise, this takes a little time…and that’s okay, if you have it! I loved the crust – mine may¬† have ended up a bit thick, but it tasted like a really delicious shortbread cookie. I went with the citrus pasty cream twist, using lime zest…only problem I had with that is that I did not cut the zest in big wide pieces as Dorie suggested (yes, my bad), so instead, I was pushing the whole bowl through a sieve so that no one would end up with lime zest stuck in their teeth. Le sigh. OH, and on a side note, I used 2% milk instead of whole and I am sure no one would have ever known…

Overall, definitely a success, and the whole process is less daunting now that I’ve done it once. Would be a lovely dessert for any brunch or luncheon, or as it was for us, a Sunday night dinner. Check out the adorable Cooking with Cristine for the recipe!

15 thoughts on “TWD: Quick Classic Berry Tart

  1. This was my first time making pastry cream, too. I’m so glad I tried it as my family absolutely loved this recipe. I bet the lime flavor was good.

  2. It looks great with the berries piled high! I agree that the name was misleading–only the assembly was truly quick. I really enjoyed it though!

  3. The tart looks heavenly – I too have many problems with pastry cream but tried a microwave method that worked beautifully! Lime…. MMM what a wonderful variation!

Leave a Reply

