Thanksgiving Part I: Apple Pie Deliciousness

This year I was happy to be heading to my parents home outside of Philadelphia – my mom was hosting a whole branch of my family, including 9 adults and 5 kiddies (1 only a week old!). I LOVE big noisy holidays and the last few, though lovely for what each was, were a bit on the quiet side. Plus, I do love my mom’s standard fare Turkey Day feast!

I had to contribute somehow, of course, so I volunteered to cover desserts. Shocking, I know. I made three things which I will separate out into different posts to give each its own glory, and not make for an Olympic length post.

In considering my options for dessert, the first one I was sure of was apple pie – the only thing I wasn’t sure of was which kind! Being a sucker for streusel, I found a couple on epicurious.com – one from Gourmet and another from Bon Apetit. As it turns out, I ended up combining them – the crust for one, the filling and topping for another. I loooooved this pie – it had a crispy top and (thanks to a few tweaks recommended by readers) a filling with good flavor and good texture. Definitely a keeper.

Cinnamon Crumble Apple Pie (adapted from Bon Apetit)

Crust (from Gourmet – Apple Pie with Walnut Streusel):
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) plus 2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
4 to 6 tablespoons ice water

To make crust:

In a large bowl with a pastry blender or in a food processor blend or pulse together flour, sugar, salt, and butter until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 2 tablespoons ice water and toss with a fork or pulse until incorporated. Add enough remaining ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time, tossing or pulsing to incorporate, until mixture begins to form a dough. On a work surface smear dough in 3 or 4 forward motions with heel of hand to slightly develop gluten in flour and make dough easier to work with. Form dough into a ball and flatten to form a 1-inch-thick disk. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and chill 30 minutes.

Filling

3 1/4 pounds Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, sliced 1/4 inch thick
2/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon vanilla

Pinch of salt
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Topping
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup (packed) golden brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

For filling:

Mix all ingredients in large bowl to coat apples.
For topping:

Blend first 5 ingredients in processor. Add chilled butter cubes; using on/off turns, cut in until mixture resembles wet sand.

On a lightly floured surface roll out dough into a 15-inch round (about 1/8 inch thick) and fold into quarters for ease of handling. Unfold dough in a 10-inch pie plate.

Toss filling to redistribute juices; transfer to crust, mounding in center. Pack topping over and around apples. Bake pie on baking sheet until topping is golden, about 40 minutes (cover top with foil if browning too quickly). Reduce oven temperature to 350°F. Bake until apples in center are tender when pierced and filling is bubbling thickly at edges, about 45 minutes longer. Cool until warm, about 1 hour.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Part I: Apple Pie Deliciousness

Leave a Reply

