TWD: Cran-Apple Crisps

So this week I continued the pattern of baking November’s recipes out of order, and made Cran-Apple Crisps (picked by Em of The Repressed Pastry Chef). I LOVE crisps. I love them all year – that’s the beauty of them! You can work with just about any seasonal fruits, top it off with a buttery-cinnamony-oaty streusel topping and voila! Perfection.

I halved the filling for this recipe, but made all of the topping (woops…now it’s sitting in the fridge calling to me to come take a little nugget), and baked it in one dish rather than individual dishes. It smelled divine while it was baking…and I think the end result was pretty good! I loved the topping, my only (minor) criticism is that the apples mushed up a bit more than I’d like. I used lovely tart Braeburn apples, so next time I could either try Granny Smiths or maybe bake it for a little less time or maybe even cut them in slightly bigger cubes?

Quick update: I tried some cold last night after it had been in the fridge, and I LOVED it. :-)

4 thoughts on “TWD: Cran-Apple Crisps

Leave a Reply

