Cinnamon Chocolate Graham Bars (and cookies!)

I’ve been toying for a while with the idea of taking the base of this recipe and morphing it into something else. And then I received my order of a bucket of goodies from King Arthur Flour and decided that there was no better time than the present to try something new! I considered perhaps something along the line of s’mores, but when it comes down to it, I’m not much of a marshmallow person (I may get shunned for that statement). Burnt over an open fire, YES…but otherwise notsomuch. I love the mild flavor from the graham cracker crumbs and chocolate and graham cracker are a winning combo, so thought it could work with a hefty dose of cinnamon and perhaps some of these.

IMG_1866a

So, into the 9X13 they went – following the same recipe with these exceptions: 1) replace butterscotch chips with dark chocolate chips, 2) add two heaping teaspoons of cinnamon, and 3) throw in a handful of the cinnamon bits. I let them sit for aabout 10 or 15 minutes on the counter, as the package said in some cases it would help to soften them (and unsoftened they are like little cinnamon rocks, though that didn’t stop me from eating the dough…shocking). I baked them for 20 minutes, and voila!

IMG_1861a

They are very chocolatey, chewy and gooey and downright yummy. I had some leftover dough, so I  made a handful of cookies too. I’d also consider adding some toasted pecans as well next time, but they are a nice twist on the standard chocolate chip blondie or cookie, for sure.

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Cinnamon Chocolate Graham Bars (and cookies!)

Leave a Reply

