Mango and Berries with Coconut Shortcakes

Once again, a beautiful box of fruit arrived from Harry and David (man will I be sad when this year is over…for anyone reading, what a fabulous gift!) – this time it was Honey Mangos. I didn’t quite know the difference between mango varieties, but it seems as though these are picked and delivered at prime ripeness, so my guess was that we should be eating them up right away!

IMG_1312I figured that before I started baking them into things (stay tuned for more on that!), we should first try these fresh – so I mixed them up with strawberries and blueberries, some lime juice, a smidge of splenda and some finely chopped crystallized ginger.

And then simply because I couldn’t NOT bake something, I decided these would be lovely with a coconut shortcake and some whipped cream. I have a basic shortbread recipe that I’ve used before (courtesy of my friend Katie) so I altered that just a bit – and wow! Definitely a keeper! They spread a bit much, so next time I might fit them into muffin tins or even bake them in an 8X8 pan…the bummer there is that you miss out on all that crunchy goodness that makes up the crust!

IMG_1326a

Coconut Shortbread

Generous ½ cup of sugar

1 stick of cold butter, cut into small pieces

3 cups of all-purpose flour

3 rounded tsps baking soda

Dash of salt

1 cup lite coconut milk

½ – ¾ cup of sweetened coconut

  • Mix sugar and butter until crumbly.
  • Mix flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to sugar mixture and mix until combined.
  • Add coconut milk and coconut and stir just until combined – it should look lumpy and almost undermixed!
  • Drop onto a parchment lined baking sheet – be wary as they spread!
  • Bake at 350 for 30 – 40 minutes or until golden brown.

IMG_1316a

One thought on “Mango and Berries with Coconut Shortcakes

Leave a Reply

