Berry Muffins – A Delaware Yummy for my Aunt

So, just like I left Butterscotch Brownies for my uncle in Delaware, I had to find something my aunt would enjoy (she is…GASP…not a Butterscotch Brownie fan!). After a quick call to my cousin, I decided to opt for some muffins, as she loves to sit with her coffee a little something to nibble on with the morning paper. I thought some kind of berry muffins would do the trick and looked up a bunch of options, but I finally found inspiration here.

I think one of the tricks with muffins is not overmixing the batter…in my effort not to fall into the overmixing trap, I went so far as to (what I thought was) undermix – but they turned out very light and moist. I might consider swapping the fresh berries out for some chopped up apples or dried cranberries next time.

 pear-crisp-009a

Double Berry Muffins (adapted from Susan at Slice of Sueshe)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

 ½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

1 rounded teaspoon cinnamon

½ cup egg substitute

1 cup light sour cream

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups chopped mixed berries

 

Whisk together dry ingredients (flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon)

Beat together egg substitute, sour cream, sugars, oil and vanilla until well blended (about 3 – 4 minutes total).

Add dry ingredients to wet, mixing with a wooden spoon. Do not overmix! Only work until blended, and then fold in the berries.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 of the way. Bake at 375 for 20 – 22 minutes.

I finished them off before baking with a hearty sprinkle of turbinado sugar. Love the crunch, and they always look so pretty!

pear-crisp-003

All sealed up with another one of my favorite labels!

pear-crisp-016

One thought on “Berry Muffins – A Delaware Yummy for my Aunt

Leave a Reply

