A Trip to Delaware and Grandma’s Butterscotch Brownies

I think it goes without saying that I am always looking for an excuse to bake. Not that I need one, but one of my favorite things about baking is giving my goodies to other people to enjoy. So my excuse comes in having a reason to bake for someone else. My aunt and uncle, who live in NJ, have a fabulous place near Rehoboth, Delaware. This past weekend, they graciously let me stay there for the night while visiting a friend, and I thought, what better way to thank them then to bake??

One of my uncles’ favorites pear-crisp-012aare my grandmother’s recipe for what were originally written as Caramel Squares, but were renamed Butterscotch Brownies along the way. My mom has made them every year as part of her Christmas Cookie repertoire, and he always requests a plate just of those, and just for him. So I busted out the recipe – one I’ve made before and love – to whip up and secretly store in their freezer until they come up again (wooooops, hope he’s not reading my blog, there goes my surprise…he is a WONderful photographer and I have gone to him before for some good advice. Check out some of his great stuff here!).

Grandma’s Caramel Squares, otherwise known as Butterscotch Brownies

2 cups brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

 

Combine & heat over med. fire, stirring until melted.  Don’t boil.

 

Cool slightly.  Then beat in 2 eggs very quickly, add 1 tsp. vanilla

 

Sift together: 2 cups flour, 1/2 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. baking powder – then add gradually to above mixture.

 

Add 1/2 cup coarsely chopped pecans or walnuts.  Bake in greased & floured pans (14 x 9 x 2) at 325 degrees for approx. 30 minutes.  Test with cake tester.  Cut in squares while warm & cool in pan.  Optional – dot with brown butter icing or maple or almond flavored butter icing & top with pecan or walnut piece.

pear-crisp-010

I transported them un-iced and put the frosting in the fridge. :-) They freeze beautifully!! And of course, I have to add my little personal touch…

pear-crisp-014c

One thought on “A Trip to Delaware and Grandma’s Butterscotch Brownies

  1. Pingback: Berry Muffins - A Delaware Yummy for my Aunt « Honey Muffin

Leave a Reply

