Fruit of the Month Club: Bosc Pears

I probably didn’t discover pears until this year…or maybe last. I had this notion that they were grainy, or mealy and I don’t LIKE grainy or mealy, so I stuck to just apples as my fall fruit of choice. But once I actually took the plunge? OH the possibilities. :-) I typically buy Anjou or Bartlett, and after my roomate received her Fruit of the Month box this month – a lovely box from Harry and David of 6 perfectly shaped, evenly sized Bosc pears – I decided I had to switch it up.

pear-crisp-006a

I had never really tried these…but YUM. They were deliciously ripe, just firm enough and quite sweet. So I gave her a choice: pie, crisp or baked (I personally would have been happy with any of them, although I was leaning on the crisp side myself…), and she opted for crisp. So I dug through the files and found a Cooking Light recipe that had been waiting in the wings for some time.

pear-crisp-018a

Harvest Pear Crisp (adapted from Cooking Light)

 

2 pounds Bosc pears, sliced ½” thick

Hefty squirt of fresh lemon juice

¼ cup (rounded) granulated sugar

Scant TBS cornstarch

2  teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided

1/3 cup whole wheat flour (about 1 ½ ounces)

½ cup packed brown sugar

½ teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces

1/3 cup regular oats

¼ cup chopped pecans

 

Preaheat oven to 375.

 

Combine pears and lemon juice in an 8×8 baking dish, toss gently to coat. Whisk together granulated sugar, cornstarch and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Add mixture to pears and toss to coat.

 

Add flour, remaining cinnamon, brown sugar, and salt to food processor, pulse to mix. Add chilled butter, pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add oats and pecans, pulse an additional 3 or 4 times. Sprinkle mixture over pears.

 

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes. I turned on the broiler and zapped the top of it after that – it added a really nice flavor to the crisp! Cool 10 minutes on a rack. Delicious with some vanilla ice cream!

 

pear-crisp-022a

One thought on “Fruit of the Month Club: Bosc Pears

  1. I used to get a box of pears at Christmastime from Harry and David every year – they are FANTASTIC! Your crisp looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

