TWD: Dimply Plum Cake

Ooooh, I’m just sneaking in this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, Dimply Plum Cake, chosen by Michelle of Bake-En. After reading through everyone’s notes, I was trying to figure out how I was going to make my approach slightly unique. I saw muffins, small loaves, and fluted pans. Hmmmm…then it dawned on me! My Baker’s Edge pan was tucked way in the back of the cabinet and just looking for a chance to come out! Truth be told, I think I’ve actually only used it once (similar to that Daisy Cake pan I had to have from Williams-Sonoma)…but I really DO like the edges of brownies and cakes, and thought this would be the perfect recipe to give it a second whirl.

I could only find pluots, so I was working with those. I used lemon zest, skipped the cardamom (not a favorite spice of mine) and upped the cinnamon to a healthy, oh, almost teaspoon. I also found myself without eggs, as I often do, and used egg substitute instead. I realize this might be on the Baking Ten Commandments, but what’s a girl to do…seemed to work out just fine!

Right out of the oven, the cake was yummy – a nice balance of sweet and tangy. I cut it up into bars, we’ll see how they hold up over night and then put them out for my test audience (aka my coworkers).

7 thoughts on “TWD: Dimply Plum Cake

Leave a Reply

